From “Wogmance” to Marathon

3 Jan

Welcome!

The purpose of this blog is to tell my continuous story of how a pair of running shoes gave me a new hope.

A faux proposal from the "Wogmance" on my last night living in Florida

A proposal from Eric on my last night living in Florida – he better never have another wogmance!

My running “journey” started 4 years ago as a simple “wogmance.” The “wogmance” was a running routine I had with my friend Eric who would drag me out after work to walk/jog (wog) – but mostly so we could talk/vent/chat/laugh about life (a platonic wog-mance!) Wogs were never timed and mileage was rarely measured – my “wogmance” was social, therapeutic exercise and nothing more. Or so I thought.

Just under two years ago I braved a New England snow storm to run my first race, a 10k in Cape Cod.  Crossing the finish line at the 2011 Hyannis Road Race gave me a sense of accomplishment I knew I wanted to experience again and again. It didn’t take long before I was hooked on racing.

Today I am a week and a half away from my very first marathon. Looking back on this “journey” I realize just how much the soles on my feet have truly shaped me.

Follow me as I move forward with my running dreams, on and off the pavement.

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

Leave a Reply

