It’s Taper Time… What Does that Mean to Me?

6 Jan

I have read countless articles on all the important things to remember in the days leading up to marathon day – what to eat, how much to run, what to wear, how to hydrate, what stretches to do… there are articles on everything from mental preparation to how to pack.  Every time I read one I get anxious. The intent of this information is out there to help, yet I mentally beat myself up. I think about the things I haven’t done right and the things I could have done better… NOT what I should be doing pre-marathon!

Any runner knows that tapering is important before a big race and these articles are great resources to figure out “the best way” – but everyone is different, right? What works for one person doesn’t mean it’s the best for the next? The last article I read said your longest run should be 3 weeks before race day, mine was 2 weeks before (when my tapering “should have” been underway…) The point is though, I felt good after – and I feel good now.  I completed that training race with a new confidence.  After finishing 21 miles through Boston (with my 3 favorite training buddies) I now look to the marathon with an unbelievable sense of excitement. I know those 21 miles I already did “too close to race day” gave me a new confidence that will carry me right through to the finish.

WDW Marathon Logo

I will continue to read, listen and take training advice – but with a more open mind – things to think about for the next marathon (I decided after my 18 mile training run there will be a next one!) and how I can improve.  The fact is, this is my first marathon and, while I may not have followed my training plan 100%, I know I am ready.  No matter how long it takes me, I am confident I will cross the finish line next week, in the middle of Walt Disney World, and I will finally utter the words “I just ran a marathon.” A quote that one year ago, I never dreamt I would ever say.

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

2 Responses to “It’s Taper Time… What Does that Mean to Me?”

  1. visit August 2, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. The article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    • erinhynes September 17, 2013 at 1:21 am #

      How is your running going? Hopefully well! Any new questions? Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

