Happy Birthday to My Consistent Inspiration

24 Jan

Today is my Dad’s Birthday. On a day I should be celebrating with my father, I instead reflect on what he left behind…  a whole lot of inspiration.

My Dad & I at my friend's wedding

My Dad & I at my friend’s wedding

Late in the evening of July 13, 2010 I received a call from my brother, Sean that would forever change my world. My father was taken from us, much too early and, even worse, completely unexpectedly.  What followed that call was a blur, but one thing was clear – I never got the chance to say goodbye.

Since that day I search for a reason why… why did I never get the chance to say, “Thanks Dad, for leading me to where I am today.” In some small way I believe this constant search actually gives me strength. Through every run and every obstacle I encounter, my dad still guides me. When I want to stop, I remember how he would tell me to go.  When I think I have gone far enough, I remember how he would tell me to go farther. When I cross the finish line, I remember the proud look he always had on his face when I achieved a goal, no matter how big or small.

Days after his death The Boston Globe wrote an article documenting my Dad’s legacy.  In it his friend, Darrell Simpson, said it best, “he was one of the best leaders I’ve met in all my life. I think John had the knack of inspiring people through his leadership, through his speech…”

During my hardest days and through my most difficult runs, my Dad is still my leader.

Happy Birthday Dad! Thank you for keeping me going – both on the pavement and off.

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to My Consistent Inspiration”

  1. Jill January 25, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    You inspire me! Love you!

    • erinhynes January 25, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Xo. Jill Saturday AM runs need to start again! Stat. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

