13.1 – My New Favorite Number

6 Apr

It’s Friday night at 10:30 and I am ready for bed. Tomorrow morning I will be greeted with an alarm reminding me it’s time to meet for a run. Saturday morning long runs became a ritual during my marathon training. When the marathon was over, so was that routine – but only temporarily. I quickly learned how much the routine grounded me. In fact, the most positive thing that came out of my 1st marathon was the routine of training. Now I am back at it, but this time with 13.1 as my end goal.

13.1Over the past few weeks the Saturday morning training routine picked back up again for 1/2 marathon training. In 23 days I will run the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC. There has been something very enjoyable about this training. I have realized that 13.1 miles is a good number – long enough to be a challenge, yet short enough to train for regularly. In fact, I think 1/2 marathon training has become an addiction. I find myself wanting to register for them all! The anticipation, the challenge, the pre-race preparation, the post-race party… what’s not to love about a half-marathon?

Ok – so maybe I am being overly positive at the moment, I have had my running moments when I asked myself, “what the hell are you doing?” (Mile 8 of my first 1/2, I said never, ever again. Mile 12 of the 1/2 I did last May seemed like 3 miles in one.) But, those negative thoughts came and then they went… the moment when I crossed the finish, that’s the memory that stays with me.

As I train and prepare for Nike, I follow their Twitter & Facebook, I take advantage of their training plans and I read & re-read the race weekend info sheet (mostly out of excitement). By the way, I must take this opportunity to applaud the social media team behind Run Nike… they do an excellent job to motivate, excite & inspire their followers to prepare to “crush” the 13.1 miles that lie ahead.

nwm-wdc-half-header

Run Nike is proving why 13.1 should be my new favorite number. Running these races have become a reason for a social event, an excuse for a vacation, a way to challenge myself, a chance to get some new “bling” around my neck and, most importantly, an activity I truly enjoy.

What’s your favorite race number? 3, 5, 7, the full 26.2 – or more? Do you run them for the challenge or exercise or just to be social?

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

12 Responses to “13.1 – My New Favorite Number”

  1. Ani Danelz April 6, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    Good luck! I run my first half in June and I am so excited to be able to look back and say “wow I just did that!”

    • erinhynes April 6, 2013 at 4:06 am #

      Thanks Ani! It is a great feeling, isn’t it? Congratulations on completing your first! I hope that means there are more to come?

      • Ani Danelz April 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

        Haven’t done it yet! In June is my first.

      • erinhynes April 6, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

        Ah! I read that wrong. Good luck! Which one are you doing?

      • Ani Danelz April 6, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        The Women’s Half in Chicago! My mom and I are running it together 🙂

      • erinhynes April 6, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        Awesome. Good luck. Can’t wait to read about your experience!

  2. Dash April 6, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Good luck!

    • erinhynes April 6, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

      Thank you! I am going to download your running playlist for my next solo training run!

      • Dash April 6, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

        Ooh, let me know how you find it! 🙂

  3. Kerry April 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Good luck Ern!!!! I love reading these blogs, they are great. Xoxo

    • erinhynes April 6, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      Love to hear that! Thank you for reading Ker XO!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From #WeRunDC to #WeRanDC | With Heart & Sole - May 21, 2013

    […] #WeRunDC – The buzz leading up to the event delivered everything it promised. (Read 13.1 is my new favorite number for […]

Leave a Reply

