Going Virtual – My #Happy5k Recap!

11 Apr

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7207909/?claim=s2ktw8k9qg8″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Everyday I work with healthcare professionals to develop live virtual training. We focus on content, delivery & audience engagement of training programs to be delivered in our interactive, virtual platform. My work world thrives in “virtual land” – and now my running does too!

In 2013 I made a promise to myself to take my running to a new level – on and off the pavement. When I started to that “off” the pavement, I was totally overwhelmed (in a good way!) by the amount of virtual chatter on running. All you bloggers & tweeters offer so much information, advice, feedback & inspiration. So from blogging to tweeting, I started to join in!

The other day I stumbled upon some virtual Boston runners, @forgetskinny & @MissMass_2009 who founded the @Happy5k, a virtual race to benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I signed up and this morning I ran my first virtual race!

Here are 5 “Happy Thoughts” that came from my #Happy5k run:

  • I ran further than I needed to earn the pretty neon medal – major plus!
  • I tweeted that I would do it this morning, so when my alarm when off at 6am, I was accountable to do it – even though there was no official start time.
  • There were Boston Marathon runners, everywhere! Who else can say that about a 5k they have done?
  • I brought one of my best running friends!
  • I can’t think of a better way to kick off a day than a running a “Happy” race!
You can still sign up! #happy5k

You can still sign up! #happy5k

Congratulations to the Happy5k founders, Laura Ingalls & Amanda Kelly!  Whether #werundc or we “run” into each other in Boston, I sure hope our running paths cross again!

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

3 Responses to “Going Virtual – My #Happy5k Recap!”

  1. alligill April 12, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    What an awesome idea! Signing up immediately! Any idea if I need to do it first thing tomorrow or if I have until Sunday? I’m a little confused… :\

    • erinhynes April 12, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      Awesome! You can do it anytime you want now through Monday! Let me know if you have other questions. I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Race Recap: Happy 5K | All is Fitness - April 28, 2013

    […] nick of time! Four days before it ended, yikes! (Check out Erin’s post about her Happy 5K here.) I’m so glad she posted about it, because I’m always looking for more races to add […]

Leave a Reply

