From #WeRunDC to #WeRanDC

21 May

I have been looking forward to recapping my Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC. As I finally sit down to write I regret how much time has gone by since that fabulous weekend. Over three weeks! Three busy weeks and I am pretty sure my weekend in DC gave me the energy and attitude I needed to get through.

All #WeRunDC weekend I was surrounded by runners from all over the world, of all shapes and sizes, of all running abilities all gathered to run for a cause in our nation’s Capitol. Best of all I was there with friends, old and new, and we sure made it a weekend to remember.

The Nike half wasn’t just a run. It was an experience. From the moment I walked in to Nike’s Expotique until I crossed that finish line, Nike delivered a run to remember. Here are 13.1 highlights of the weekend (through pictures!)

Nike - Name on Wall1) WeRunDC Wall – my name was on it! (Ok, fine, every runner’s name was on it)

 

 

 

 

White House2) Sunshine – All weekend in DC. For us Bostonians this was very exciting at the time.

 

 

 

 

Personal Records

3) Personal Records – Crossing the finish with Sara who got a new PR (by 10 minutes!) and shout-out to Nikki who KILLED hers.

 

 

 

 

Silver Platter

4) Bling –  A Tiffany Necklace at the finish… On a silver platter.

 

 

 

 

Boston Strong5) Blue & Yellow – We were all so proud to run Boston Strong in DC.

 

 

 

 

Girls and White House6) BRFs – Traveling with some of my best running friends was simply stated, perfection.

 

 

 

 

Cheerleaders7) Support – We had the loudest and best cheerleaders.

 

 

 

expotique

8) Energy –  There was an incredible spirit that carried through all weekend by every runner, Nike staff member and especially the volunteers.

 

 

DC expotique9) The Expotique – Inspiration, free stuff, make-up, Nike gear, excitement… you found all that and more at Nike’s Expotique.

 

 

We Run DC10) #WeRunDC – The buzz leading up to the event delivered everything it promised. (Read 13.1 is my new favorite number for more)

 

 

 

 

mimosas11) Mimosas – Post race, of course! We treated ourselves and had way too much fun doing it.

 

 

 

leukemia and lymphoma society12) Running for a Cause – All proceeds benefited the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. That finish line represented a lot more than just accomplishing 13.1 miles.

 

 

 

 

Boston Strong Smiles13) Smiles – They were abundant, all weekend long.

 

 

 

Thank you Nike – not for putting together one of my favorite runs to date, but for creating an experience every girly runner out there deserves. I left that weekend refreshed, motivated & inspired… and I have some Tiffany bling to prove it!

With Heart & Sole,

Erin

6 Responses to “From #WeRunDC to #WeRanDC”

  1. thepaceofitall May 21, 2013 at 3:08 am #

    Sounds like an awesome run, thanks for sharing your experience and pictures. You kinda make me want to do it… And there’s no way I can do a half marathon! 🙂

    • erinhynes May 21, 2013 at 3:22 am #

      It was. This would be the perfect first half! You should sign up next year. Two years ago I said, I could never do a half. Since I have done a half dozen! It’s all about sticking with a training plan and I promise you can do it.

    • erinhynes May 21, 2013 at 3:22 am #

      Thanks for reading!!

  2. Molto Vivace May 23, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    Loved your positive recap – it was a fun experience, more than a race!

    • erinhynes May 23, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      It totally was… Glad you thought so too! Happy running & thank you for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Truly a Run to Remember | With Heart & Sole - May 29, 2013

    […] for 2 half marathons 1 month apart from each other.  In the 4 weeks that separated my half in DC (We Ran Dc) and Boston’s Run to Remember, my training plan suffered.  Sure I ran, a few miles here and […]

Leave a Reply

